Coverart for item
The Resource The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket, Benjamin Lorr

The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket, Benjamin Lorr

Label
The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket
Title
The secret life of groceries
Title remainder
the dark miracle of the American supermarket
Statement of responsibility
Benjamin Lorr
Creator
Author
Subject
Language
eng
Summary
"In the tradition of Fast Food Nation and The Omnivore's Dilemma, an extraordinary investigation into the human lives at the heart of the American grocery store What does it take to run the American supermarket? How do products get to shelves? Who sets the price? And who suffers the consequences of increased convenience end efficiency? In this alarming exposé, author Benjamin Lorr pulls back the curtain on this highly secretive industry. Combining deep sourcing, immersive reporting, and compulsively readable prose, Lorr leads a wild investigation in which we learn: The secrets of Trader Joe's success from Trader Joe himself Why truckers call their job "sharecropping on wheels" What it takes for a product to earn certification labels like "organic" and "fair trade" The struggles entrepreneurs face as they fight for shelf space, including essential tips, tricks, and traps for any new food business The truth behind the alarming slave trade in the shrimp industry The result is a page-turning portrait of an industry in flux, filled with the passion, ingenuity, and exploitation required to make this everyday miracle continue to function. The product of five years of research and hundreds of interviews across every level of the industry, The Secret Life of Groceries delivers powerful social commentary on the inherently American quest for more and the social costs therein"--
Assigning source
Provided by publisher
Cataloging source
DCH
http://library.link/vocab/creatorName
Lorr, Benjamin
Dewey number
381.4/564130068
Index
index present
LC call number
HF5469.23.U62
LC item number
L67 2020
Literary form
non fiction
Nature of contents
bibliography
http://library.link/vocab/subjectName
Supermarkets
Target audience
adult
Label
The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket, Benjamin Lorr
Instantiates
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 277-316) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1190625180
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
328 pages
Isbn
9780553459395
Lccn
2020004949
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1190625180
Label
The secret life of groceries : the dark miracle of the American supermarket, Benjamin Lorr
Publication
Bibliography note
Includes bibliographical references (pages 277-316) and index
Carrier category
volume
Carrier category code
  • nc
Carrier MARC source
rdacarrier
Content category
text
Content type code
  • txt
Content type MARC source
rdacontent
Control code
on1190625180
Dimensions
24 cm
Extent
328 pages
Isbn
9780553459395
Lccn
2020004949
Media category
unmediated
Media MARC source
rdamedia
Media type code
  • n
System control number
(OCoLC)1190625180

Library Locations

    • Chelmsford Public LibraryBorrow it
      25 Boston Road, Chelmsford, MA, 01824, US
      42.5945374 -71.3516266